Regenerating Discord Links

If your convention uses Discord, you can regenerate Discord text and voice channels and categories that failed to be created for whatever reason, or create them for new rooms/spaces after your initial Discord setup.

For example, if a name of a room/space is changed or some other error, the Discord link may need to be reset.  So, convention organizers can now regenerate links for a whole room/Discord category or a specific space/Discord channel within a category.

Regenerating links for a Room will apply to the room and all associated spaces within the room.  Regenerating links for a Space will only apply to the designated space, even if there are other Spaces within the same room that may need regenerating.

To Regenerate a whole Room/Discord Category

1. Go to Convention Tools > Scheduling > Rooms.

2. Find the Room that needs to be regenerated and click "Edit" .

3. At the bottom of the list of event types allowed in the Room you should see the following regarding the Discord category link:

4. Clear the Category - This will remove the links associated the Discord Category assigned to this Room and the Discord channels assigned to its Spaces.

5. VERY IMPORTANT: Go to the convention's Discord Server and DELETE all the associated Category/Channels from the server. If the channels and category are not deleted from the Discord server, there will be duplicate listings on the server when the links are regenerated.  Note that If you delete a room because it will no longer be used, you must still delete the associated Discord category and its channels on Discord.com. 

6. Come back to Convention's Room page (see Step 1) and click "Rebuild Category"

After Clicking "Re-build"

To see the regenerated Discord links, you must refresh the page.  It might take a few minutes for the links to appear.  You will receive a notification email when the process is complete.

To Regenerate a single space/Discord channel

1. Go to Convention Tools > Scheduling > Spaces or you can go to Convention Tools > Scheduling > Rooms to find the space within a specific room.

2. To the right of the space, you will see a button to "Manage" the space.  Click on "Clear Discord Channels":

Manage Menu Options:

  • Time Slots allows you to see/edit the time slots associated with that Space.  
  • Clear Discord Channels will remove any discord links assigned to that space.  It has no effect on events on the schedule or any information stored with events (such as in the event description etc).  The Discord links for the Space will need to be regenerated through Steps 3 and 4.
  • Delete will delete the space from the TTE convention and has no impact to Discord.  Note that If you delete a space because it will no longer be used, you must still delete the associated channels on Discord.com.

3. VERY IMPORTANT: Go to the convention's Discord Server and DELETE the associated channels (text and voice) from the server. If the channels are not deleted from the Discord server, there will be duplicate listings on the server when the links are regenerated.

4. Come back to the page you were previously on for the Space (see Step 1) and click "Rebuild Discord Channels".

After Clicking "Re-build"

To see the regenerated Discord links, you must refresh the page.  It might take a few minutes for the links to appear.  You will receive a notification email when the process is complete.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us